Cinderella: Why it’s Okay to Believe in the Fairytale

Hi friends!

So I’m back this week with, what I would consider, a more upbeat post than last week’s. (Not that my feelings have changed on that subject for my life personally, but I digress).

Perhaps it’s the time change and the days beginning to be noticeably longer. It could be that the sunshine has been out from behind the clouds this week. Or it simply could be that the Bradford Pears have put on their blooms, and although I despise their pollen and odor, it’s a sign that Spring is in its humble beginnings. It could even be that I’ve finally kicked mycoplasma to the curb and now I’ve been working out again (FINALLY!!!), so that’s all in balance now… (or getting there). Whatever the reason, my spirits are higher this week than they’ve been in a while. Not that they were low, but now they are eeeeeven higher than they were! You could say, I am pretty jolly about everything.

Spring is such a catch 22 for me. Although Winter is my least favorite season, I started not to get quite as excited for Spring during college because it was usually filled with school assignments and stress. It became anticlimactic compared to every other season and I always ended up slightly disappointed. This year, out of habit, I felt the same about Spring. But already, this season is shaping up to be pretty wonderful.  I think that catch 22 might be a throw 21 now.

This weekend was perfect. It was relaxing, productive, and sunny with a mild temperature (for me that means in the 70’s… I’m the coldest-natured person that I know). My favorite thing that I got to do was go see Cinderella.

Image cred goes to Disney, obviously.

Image cred goes to Disney, obviously.

I’ve been following the movie’s Facebook ever since last Fall. I love Lily James in Downton Abbey, and it’s Cinderella, so I’ve been excited, but I always have doubts about how well a motion picture will be executed. However, Cinderella was flawlessly done. You can agree or disagree, for whatever reason. But I feel like it was perfect.

There’s several reasons, why. The acting was great (how can you go wrong with Cate Blanchet and Helena Bonham-Carter? Answer: you can’t, unless you try to mess it up.). The costumes were so lovely. They brought the Disney cartoon to living, breathing, life. The set was jaw-dropping. It glittered nearly as much as the costumes did. And my favorite part was how it was written. It was the perfect mix of the classic tale and the Disney movie. To summarize it, the film was absolutely dreamy. It will be a classic in my house. I’ve already seen it twice (once with my mom, aunt, and sister and another time with a friend).

There will be spoilers, from here on out, so if you don’t want to know, then don’t read.

Part of the reason I’m critical about movies is because of their endings. Most people are like that, too. They want it to be just right. Satisfying, with a slight twist. What people permit as “satisfying” is where we fork. I’ve already seen a review for the movie that only gave it 3 stars. I immediately thought, “it’s probably because it fully indulges in the fairytale, and sassy pants wanted a different point-of-view or more realistic take on things”. My point is, it’s Cinderella. Let it have the perfect, happy ending. Be inspiring and let people dream.

I get where they’re coming from. It helps you not set such a high standard, and not set you up for disappointment. Or it simply helps you feel better about your circumstances. Sometimes, it allows you to create your own ending of what happens in the future, and instantly it becomes more relateable to you. I fully get it. If every movie had a happy ending it’d be too predictable. But Cinderella is the exception.

I probably sound like a diva princess, talking so passionately about letting Cinderella have her happy ending. Perhaps I am. But as I was watching there were so many instances where I just couldn’t help but revel in how sweet the story was. In terms of love, it creates a beautiful picture. And God is love.  It’s easier to put all this in bullet format, so let me explain:

  • At the very beginning, Cinderella’s mother tell her to “Have courage and be kind”. I adore that because it’s a call-to-action to be bold and to show love. She ends up living by this statement, and it’s pretty wonderful.
  • Even in the face of her evil step mother and step sisters, Cinderella maintains the heart of a servant and does everything with kindness as though she’s doing it in love, despite her circumstances. She never even complains. It’s more graceful than any of the Disney princesses, if you ask me. She’s thankful for what little she has, even though she’s made fun of for it. She shares her little bit of table scraps with her friends (the mice), and finds ways to make due with what she has. (The part where she sleeps by the fire to stay warm and wakes up with ashes on her face, completely unaware until the others made fun of her… That would 100% happen to me).
  • Then we get to the prince. Their “meet cute” was genuine, warm-hearted, and sweet. What I love about the prince is how humble he is, and that he doesn’t think twice about Cinderella’s social status. She has the humility to be completely honest about who she is, and the first time he asks her to dance, he says so in way that’s like a  formal request to someone far more important than himself. It’s an invitation that I don’t think anyone could resist.
  • At the very end, Lady Tremaine walks down the stairs after being proven wrong, and after Cinderella has accepted Kit’s marriage proposal. Cinderella turns around and pauses. Just when you think Disney has finally provided a window for the perfect “last word”, Cinderella tells her step-mother “I forgive you”. And she meant it. It’s the cherry on top.

Above all, the movie offers a sense of hope. It gives a good ending to someone that has bowed down consistently, lovingly, and without complaint. She worked hard, stayed sweet, gave of herself, and in the end, without her doing anything out of the ordinary she ended up exactly in the best spot she could have ever, (but didn’t) imagine. And all she wanted to do was go to the ball to visit with her friend, “the apprentice”. Her love for Kit was genuine. Does any of this sound familiar?

Much the way marriage is supposed to model the relationship between Christ and the church, there are so many parallels between this movie and how Christ romances us. If the fairy godmother were an angel, you’d have a story that resembled a story out of the Bible. Jesus offers us so much hope, just like the story of Cinderella does. Only with Jesus, it’s not made up. It’s real. And the happy ending is life eternal with Jesus in heaven.

Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to end up like Cinderella (anyone know of any really nice princes that love Jesus?). But the real reason that it’s okay to believe in this fairytale is because in reality, Jesus already wrote the love story for us. It’s kind of funny to think about it this way, but Jesus was Cinderella during His time on earth. He gave love with boldness that the world had never seen, remained pure and holy while humble and tender, and when the world turned its back on Him, He forgave us.

Our call of duty is to be as much like Him as we can, which can resemble the life of Cinderella, and we are promised life eternal. The only difference is, the Prince of Peace loves us just as we are, not even as good of a person as Cinderella, as ugly sinners, before we even encounter Him. Our happy ending is written without us even knowing it. All we have to do is love Him. And how easy is that when He is so sweet? (Easier said than done, yes).

That’s why there is absolutely nothing wrong in believing in the happy ending, what the world has deemed as “the fairytale”. The truth is living in this world, is the alternate reality for a short time, and where He is is reality. The fairytale is the reality. How awesome is that news?

So if you haven’t, I highly suggest going to see Cinderella. Guys, too. It won’t hurt ya. Perhaps you will get the same warms fuzzies that I did, too!

As always…

Love y’all,

Chaslee

Leave a Reply

