The Monday Before Christmas

It’s funny, the amount of events, emotional fluxes, energy, and conclusions that can be packed into 2 weeks. I had to break my roll of weekly updates because this past week truly packed more into 7 days than I have experienced in a very very long time. I know that I’m not the only who’s busy in this season, but with Christmas being this week I didn’t want to forfeit another update. There’s something about the monument of the holiday that just brings about more cause for reflection and sharing. So here we go.

If there’s one way to describe this past week it’s this: So. Much. Celebration. And I couldn’t be more excited for all parties involved. While one friend entered into a covenant of marriage with her best friend, my sister was presented at the Holiday Cotillion. You can imagine how much joy was wrapped up in the weekend. You know the beginning of 27 Dresses when Katherine Heigle is in 2 weddings in one day? That was sort of what life looked like on Friday and Saturday. Only it was a Cotillion, not a wedding and there was no changing in a taxi (fortunately).

With the wedding, several of my friends came back in town (!!!) and it was awesome to be with them again. While they were here, we visited, ran errands, ate Chick-Fil-A, got pedicures and had a great time. Also, my BFF Jordan landed an internship with Chicago White Sox. So she’s a boss 🙂 Then of course we celebrated Kayla and Luke, and it was tons of fun. They’re a beautiful couple and I just hope that one day I can have a relationship like that (because they’re that awesome).

Cotillion was also loads of fun. My family loves a good excuse to dress up and shake it on the dance floor. We did it 2 years ago with my Cotillion, and did it again this year. It’s a great bonding experience. For the record, I LOVE my family. They are the absolute best. God gave me an amazing foundation and I am always amazed at how great they are.

So much dancing because we love dancing!

So much dancing because we love dancing! We had to take our heels off.

So today, as you can imagine, I was exhausted. Rarely do I let myself sleep past 9 because I hate wasting the day away in bed. (I’m also a morning person… lame I know). But today, I didn’t budge until 10:30. When I woke up, I was the only one at home (my dad is with my granddad (Bud) at UAB because Bud is going to have a shunt put in, and my mom took my sister to get her wisdom teeth out… so much surgeryyyy). Consequently it left me in the quiet, which meant my thoughts got really loud this morning. A lot happened this weekend. And if I’m being completely honest with you, I got a little sullen.

I am over joyed for everyone around me. The ones that are getting married, getting jobs, moving, making friends, and so on. God is so good, and He has surrounded me with amazing friends. He further displays His faithfulness not only through their precious friendships with me, but also in how He is working in their lives.

Now, I just have to preface this with saying that under no circumstances am I jealous. Nor have I lost any faith in what the Lord is doing in my life or His promise for me. I’m not shaken. Perhaps it’s just me going from being so busy to being so quiet, so quickly. But I am wondering what the future holds, and I’m getting anxious.

This semester has been quite a time of rest and change, and I am so grateful. The Lord moved in my life, and he changed my heart in so many ways for the better. I’m completely in love with Him, and I’m continuing to learn more about His nature everyday… (now, my execution in imitating that behavior is by no means perfect, but we are always continuing to be sanctified more and more everyday, right?). Basically, what I’m trying to say is, I’m in a much better place to move forward than before. I’m just really ready to know what the plan is.

My entire life, the Lord’s voice and direction has only seemed to be most audible in situations where He’s saying “Chaslee, this definitely isn’t right,” or “Chaslee, here. Go. Now. Time to move.” When I read about the stories of Abraham, or Moses, or Noah, or (in the spirit of Advent), Elizabeth, Mary, Joseph, and Zechariah I am totally jealous. Jealous that the Lord gives them vision quite sometime ahead of when He moves and they trust and obey His command in order to prepare the way. In my life, I’m told to trust, but I genuinely have no idea where I’m going or what I’m supposed to be doing. I have been stripped of all distractions and the possibilities are endless. I know what I like, what I don’t, what I’m good at and what I’m not. But nothing is happening. All I need is some vision! Come on Lord. What’s next? Just give me something to go on. I know I’m in the right place currently. I have no doubts about that. But I have no inkling of what’s to come.

I’ve been asked several times about what it is that I want for Christmas. I’m having so much trouble coming up with anything tangible, though. My closet can’t fit another thing in it (praise the Lord for that blessing), so I’m good there. (Mostly because I don’t get rid of clothes much). All my technology is up to date so no new laptops or phones are needed. I have what I need for my trip to France. And I would ask for things for a kitchen or living room, but I don’t have an apartment and have no idea if I will have one in the near future. Perhaps that’s part of being 24.

But the truth is this. If I could have any present for Christmas it would be direction. Don’t misunderstand me. I am completely content and trust the Lord with wherever He may led me. I’m totally cool with Him piloting me. Under no circumstances do I want to move without Him leading me. I just want some sort of  idea of what’s going on. Maybe I’m being selfish, and if I am I hope He will correct me.

So that’s my confession for today. In the meantime, there’s a very special holiday coming up later this week. Oh, the preciousness of Christmas. To be reminded of how He humbled himself for our sakes and became a baby born in a manger is so special. His love for us is so great. He is the One True King, but He loves us so much that He lived a life obedience and became lowly. My hope for this Christmas is that I can imitate Him and be a light of love for others. He is so wonderful. And we have the privilege of spending a few days simply reflecting on His precious gift among the presence of our loved ones.

I probably won’t post until after Christmas, so I want to leave you with this. Take time to be in His presence and remember His sweet, sweet love for us. I’m praying that each of you have a safe and happy Christmas, and wish you JOY during this season!

Luke 2:1-14:

In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world. (This was the first census that took place while[e] Quirinius was governor of Syria.) And everyone went to their own town to register.

So Joseph also went up from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to Bethlehem the town of David, because he belonged to the house and line of David. He went there to register with Mary, who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child. While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born, and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no guest room available for them.

And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. 10 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people. 11 Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord. 12 This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.”

13 Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying,

14 “Glory to God in the highest heaven,
    and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”

MERRY CHRISTMAS my dear friends! Love y’all and wishing you joy and peace all season long!

Chaslee

Leave a Reply

