New Seasons, New Schedules

If you know me very well, you know that I am not a cold weather fan. I’m already cold-natured, so when the fall season really starts to blast the cold weather I wince. I mean I love the holidays and getting cozy on the couch with a warm blanket, but beyond that I prefer warm weather because I just can’t seem to warm my bones during the winter.

That being the case, my workout schedule has to switch up, and switch ups very often create kinks. It’s hard for me to get used to a new schedule and so sometimes I can fall off the tracks. Just a few weeks ago I was sick, so that also created a kink. I was out of commission for about 3 weeks trying to nurse my congestion.

When it all adds up, this is just a very difficult season for working out. My list of reasons not to work out usually consists of one or two of these reasons: it’s cold outside, so I can’t go running, I’m sick, the time change!, I’m soooo busy preparing for the holidays, and so on. (I know I’m not the only one, any of these sound familiar?) But since it is such a busy season, it’s that much more important to stay active! Those reasons including: it can help relieve stress, it helps you burn all the delicious food that comes with the time of year, and it helps your body fight off illness. Woo hoo!

But we all know, it’s easier said than done. So here’s my rule of thumb:

Sticking to a good work out regiment consists of two things: figuring out the schedule and having a plan B.

I’ve talked before about how important it is to have a balanced workout regiment. (If you haven’t heard me say it before, there must be a good amount of cardio, and resistance or weight training). But another benefit that balance offers is that it helps figuring out a good schedule that much easier. On some days you do cardio, and on other days you do weight training. (And switching it up means you don’t get bored!) For example, a basic outline of my schedule looks like this:

Day 1: Cardio (running, spin class, swimming etc..)
Day 2: Weights and lifting
Day 3: Cardio
Day 4: Weights and lifiting
Day 5: Cardio
Day 6 (optional): Some form of stretching and strengthening like yoga

It may seem like a lot, but for me that particular loose schedule is perfect. I can adjust it to particular days out of the week, edit it if I’m going on a trip, and adjust it for certain times of the day. It gives me so much freedom, especially if I can’t do a specific workout. Which is where plan b comes in.

I told y’all I hate the cold. But running has proved to be extremely beneficial to me. So when the colder months come by, my cardio routine switches from morning or afternoon runs, to midday runs (hottest part of the day) or spin classes. But cardio is pretty easy to find a plan b… what about weighted workouts?

No one likes a crowded gym. Unfortunately work schedules make it hard to attend the gym when less people are there. Personally, I prefer mornings. But if it becomes the afternoon and I haven’t gone, I usually choose to avoid the crowd. I have a few dumb bells at home, one kettle bell, a yoga ball, and a yoga mat. It’s not much to work with, but if I clear out the garage, and bring in a couple extra props like a step ladder and combine it with a couple HIIT workouts, suddenly I have an hour long workout that’s perfect!

 

Just a little peek at what a garage workout looks like for me. Basic, but so good.

Just a little peek at what a garage workout looks like for me. Basic, but so good.

So basically, this:

1. Find a loosely based schedule that you can follow every week, no matter what. If you want to burn fat, make sure it includes more cardio, and if you want to tone up add in a few more days with weighted workouts.

2. Get creative. The object of the goal is to be active for at least 30 minutes to an hour everyday. If your schedule is being affected by the weather or having been sick, don’t give up. Just make some adjustments.

Finally, I’ll provide y’all with a couple resources that I think are awesome when it comes to having to do a little improvisation.

This woman looks a little scary in the picture on her homepage, but don’t worry. This is an AWESOME list of workouts organized by each body part that can keep you creating new workouts for days. I go to it when I need some more ideas. Some of the workouts may seem scary to girls, but just remember, high rep, low weight… we aren’t men and our muscles don’t develop the same!

Here is just one example of Pop Sugar Fitness’ fantastic HIIT workouts. Some may find these to be a little girly, but if you do them several times through (I usually do 3), in addition to your weight workout… you’ll be plenty sore the next day! They have so many other HIIT’s too!

So there are a couple tips to keep in mind with the crazy holidays just around the corner. As with everything, it takes organization. But just remember these few things, and added in with a little determination, it’s so easy to integrate workouts into every day.

Finally, I will be an official ACE certified trainer soon. So if you’re in town and want a little boost, y’all can call me soon.

Have a terrific Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

