Fresh New Year… What to do with 2014?

Hi friends,

I’m sorry if you came here looking for an update on the end of my semester, traveling and Christmas break. It kinda went like  Army Navy game, knocked out on the couch for a week, Christmas and then time with Shawn in Tampa. All in that order and all that fast. It was a great break, but I won’t talk about it in detail. I have something else to talk about.

So I went on a run today. Not that a run is anything spectacular, I do that a lot actually. But it was the first time I’ve been running since my nasal surgery, which included a septoplasty and turbinate reduction. Anytime I’ve told anyone that they always say, “so you mean plastic surgery?” … No. I’m not the kind to voluntarily go under the knife for any vain type of cause. Pain and pills just ain’t my thang. And if you haven’t noticed, my nose is pretty small. The reason for my surgery was so I can breath more clearly and (hopefully), so that I will get way less sinus infections.

Back to my story. Physically speaking, the run was right decent, minus the fact that it took me longer to complete my typical 5.5 miles. My nose wasn’t what slowed me down. It was the leftover congestion and scratchy feeling in my lungs caused by the intubation… Lame. Fortunately, I don’t run to beat previous times. I run to clear my head, pray and “re-align” (so-to-speak).

Being my first run of 2014, I naturally started thinking about what I want this year’s goal to be. I say naturally, because it’s been a year since I’ve been more consistent than ever with staying in shape. This past semester it even became my hobby. Sad, I know, but I enjoy it so whatevs. The funny thing is, I’m not much of a “resolution” kind of person because I think they’re ridiculous. Usually it sets me up for disappointment. In fact, although this fitness thing was an underlying goal of mine, it also just sort of finally happened because I finally put the time in on it…. (Don’t worry this isn’t another fitness blog that the world DOESN’T need).

Starting January 1, the year was rung in on my newsfeed, Insta, Snapchat, and Twitter with posts about people being “so blessed and thankful, and here’s my goal:____ Here’s to 2014!” For some reason, it seemed to be worse this year than any other year and for some reason I started to feel slightly inferior. (Insert assessment about the negatives of social media here).  Honestly, probably just me being silly. But the truth is, I felt bad because I couldn’t figure out what in the world I wanted my goal to be this year, or if it was necessary. So while I was running today, I realized how absolutely sick I am of Huffpost, Buzzfeed, Facebook, and all the world feeling the need to tell everyone what and how to improve their year, even when it’s filled with positive changes to lifestyle that are biblically okay. 

I realize that my blog and my posts, totally negate that statement in some senses, because all of this social media stuff is mostly used for narcissistic purposes now. But don’t worry, I’m not about to charge ahead with some over-the-top rant. The world doesn’t need anymore of that either. 

The thing is, I’m tired of all the “noise”. I’m tired of distractions. You see, I realize the beauty of setting a goal and being pleased with my healthy, fit body that I’ve been working to achieve over the past year, and it makes me want to do it again, but with something else. I’m simply not satisfied with staying where I am, not improving. In years past my goal has always been, “get closer to Jesus”. In fact, that was it last year (like I said, the fitness thing just happened), and I have definitely been taught totally new things by the Lord this year. I mean, “getting closer to Jesus” is my goal all the time. However, to be quite honest, that broad statement is never as fruitful as I hope it will be– at least, the result doesn’t seem to be as broadly profound as my fitness thing has been. This, in conjunction with all of these resolutions, constant blog posts about how to live in your 20’s, what to do before you get married, random DIY’s and other crap (yes, crap), has simply made me a little bitter.

When all of this finally summated in my mind, (around mile 4), it occurred to me that this year, my goal needs to be taking God’s word (both spoken and written) into higher regard and consideration than that of the world. I know that sounds so elementary, but let me put it like this. It’s sort of me like saying “no more social media!”, but since I have to be on here I’m just going to take a different mindset about it (ya know, the whole PR profession… I can’t really unplug. Especially while I’m in grad school. My professors will think I’m stupid). Still, that sounds simple. But if it were simple then why are so many people fasting from it nowadays? 

I know what you might be thinking. “Chaslee, you’re doing exactly what you called out 5 minutes ago, you hypocrite”. Yeah, I know. But here’s the purpose: since most of my friends are the ones that read this, I want you to call me out when you notice that becoming too distracted. 

I have a lot coming up and going on this year. I graduate and have to find a job. My boyfriend graduates and has a job (location TBD). WEDDINGS ON WEDDINGS ON WEDDINGS. I will move out on my own and have to pay my own bills. I will more than likely have to relocate. The friends I’ve made in graduate school may have to move away from me again, and I’ll have to make new friends. The list goes on and will continue to grow. I need to be in the right state spiritually and mentally, and if I’m not focused on the Lord then tackling all this will not be easy. 

So go right ahead. PLEASE, tell me when I’m being worldly and holding that standard too high. I realize that’s a weird request. But in the age of “I do what I want, YOLO, equality, me me me, do what you believe makes you right”, I think I could use some more accountability.

Hopefully at this point, I haven’t lost you. I hope that you’ve been able to relate or at least have been entertained. Maybe some of you are making similar goes, or some of you don’t have goals. Either way, I wish all of the best 2014 possible and I hope that it’s richly blessed. I’ll leave you with the verse that’s going to fuel my goal:

“His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness. Through these He has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, having escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desires. 
For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins.” 2 Peter: 3-9

 

Have a wonderful New Year!

Love y’all,

 

Chaslee

Leave a Reply

