Aside

Graduated

Well hello, readers. I’m back again with a few updates. Although that sounds exciting, (and some of the news truly is exciting), my life has actually been a little bit more mundane. But I’ll explain here in bit.

About 2 weeks ago I walked at graduation. My degrees have been processed, and I am officially a college graduate. The most common question I have been asked since then is, “How do you feel now?” It’s a little odd being asked that question. The most honest answer I can offer up is that I feel old now. But I also feel pretty silly. The kind of silly where you freak out because you think you lose something, but it’s sitting right next to your hand.

So here’s my big news: You see, literally the next day after I wrote my last post, I received an email from the College of Communications and Information Sciences. It was a copy of my acceptance letter into the one-year master’s program for advertising and public relations. I was actually in the middle of crunch time, writing a research paper for my last public relations class and just happened to check my email. I was so shocked that I didn’t vocally tell anybody. I just forwarded them the email with an all-caps message that said “praise Jesus!”, (even to my mother who was sitting in the kitchen at her laptop downstairs). I was relieved and my soul rejoiced all at the same time, because the Lord had finally given me answer to my prayer. Finally, I knew what I would be doing next year.

The funny thing is, despite knowing where I will be in a few months, I still have this fairly unsure feeling. Granted, I’m no longer in panic mode. But now I’ve only put-off the time until I need to make a move in a particular direction, not involving school. After all the festivities and pomp and circumstance surrounding graduation had finally died down, I couldn’t figure out why I still felt slightly anxious. That is, until last Sunday.

If you know me very well, you know that I LOVE National Community Church (NCC) in Washington, D.C. In fact, that church was a huge part of the reason I wanted to move to D.C. after graduation. The story behind how the church came to be, and it’s pastor, Mark Batterson’s, faith are absolutely incredible. And attending their Sunday service was one of my favorite things that I did during my internship last year. (If you spend  ANY TIME AT ALL in D.C., and you’re there on a Sunday morning, do yourself a favor and attend the 11:00 service at Barracks Row theater and enjoy their hospitality. Then follow it up with lunch at Eastern Market a couple blocks over. = GLORIOUS SUNDAY MORNING.) But enough about the church.

The point is, (sorry for the long explanation), I did church-on-laptop last week and Mark Batterson spoke about their series for this month, Voyage of Life. One thing he has said in several of his sermons, but that didn’t resonate with me until now was,

God has you where He wants you RIGHT NOW. Enjoy the journey. God wants you to get where God wants you to get, more than you want to get where God wants you to go. So relax.” (The rest of the sermon, Live and Learn, is available online here: http://theaterchurch.com/media/ … you might be my best friend if you check it out).

So the moral of the story is, stop freaking out and start living in the Spirit because it’s not about getting there. It’s about becoming someone, someone that the Lord has created you to be and that ultimately brings glory to His name. It sounds so easy, wonderful and great, but I’ll be honest with you. SO MUCH EASIER SAID THAN DONE. I’m such a planner, and I’ve always considered the future to be more important than the present, but the truth is that it’s not. And I have got to embrace this if I want any peace, I know. Too bad I’m so impatient.

So now a little bit of “present” for you. This past week I started an internship at UAB Dental School in Alumni Relations. It’s actually, (despite what I originally thought), going to be a pretty cool little job. Now, the drive to and from Birmingham each day might get old, but I will be adding to my portfolio while getting paid a little extra. So it’s a win-win.

I have so much to be thankful for, and really I need to start focusing on that. I have got to get back into a daily routine of reading and praying and just spending time with the Lord (hey, maybe I can do a little of that on my commute…as long as I can pay attention). Regardless, I need to make more of an effort. I have to stop being selfish. The thing is, you have enjoy the journey and do well with where you are before (in Batterson’s words) “God can graduate you to the next level spiritually.” And that’s what it’s all about.

So I hope that I can turn this internship and commute into something that will help me grow in Christ. For the next few weeks I have several weekend plans that will help keep me entertained, which is fun. But I need to get back on track and stay focused. That’s my confession to y’all for now.

I realize this post probably isn’t as entertaining as the last. If it’s not, go listen to that sermon and take some notes. But as I said in my first post, this is meant to be very honest blog for other people to relate to and hopefully get something out of it.

I’ll be back later to post some photographs.

XOXO,

Chaslee

Leave a Reply

